Skip navigation

Do i still want to work In PR is a huge question that has been raised during the first semester.

Public relations is renowned for its competitive edge and extreme bitchiness.  Whilst studying public relations i’ve witnessed much of this.

As i came into my second year, i was determined to do well and succeed and do what ever it takes to reach my goals. This resulted in a change in myself, i was becoming more competitive against people, looking for flaws in how i could be better than them and ‘bitching’ back at those bitches who bitched at me (you know who you are!). Eventually, i realised i was becoming someone i didnt want to be.

Does reaching my goals mean i have to sacrifice my morals and values?  There are many ethical questions surrounding public relations and if being in the industry changes people for the worst, than is it worth it?

Yes, the competitive edge is exciting and its a huge buzz when i achieve something but I value my beliefs more than i do money and success.  This is something i seriously have to consider especially when it comes to choosing my placement and the sector i want to work in. I hope that i can find something that doesn’t conflict with my morals!

I am still going work hard but make sure keep myself in check in the process! 🙂

One Comment

  1. I think it’s more likely that you’ve learnt something about students than that you’ve learnt about what it’s like to work in public relations.

    But it’s certainly true that until you become the boss (or work for yourself), there’s little you can do to choose your colleagues. So it’s important to get along with whoever you’re asked to work with – and to try to ensure that the team is stronger than any single individual.


Leave a Reply

